Review of Clear Admit’s Interview Guide for Wharton

Prior to my Wharton interview, which I withdrew before completing since I accepted admittance to Columbia’s program, Clear Admit offered a complementary interview guide for me to review on my site.  I would like to share what I thought of the guide, and hopefully it will help some people who are on the fence about what resources to use while preparing for their interview. 

Pros:

  • Explained the TBD (Team Based Discussion) thoroughly, including goals of the TBD, who is involved (e.g. second year MBAs vs. Adcom members) and expectations.  Prior to reading this, I didn’t have much background on the TBD yet – so this was very helpful.
  • Included the current prompt interviewees are sent for the TBD
  • A rough estimation of your chances of getting through the interview with an admit (shhh… its 1 in 3!).  
  • A list of typical questions for the one-on-one post-TBD interview. 
  • Some great tips for the interview (e.g.: err on the side of brevity, have a list of candidacy updates prepared)

Cons:

  • Overall, I thought it was a thorough and really great guide to prepare for the Wharton interview.  That being said, it would have been nice to see a couple of sample answers for each of the interview questions.  Obviously, everyone’s answers are going to be different, but some people prepare best if they can see an example of what is ideal-rather than just being told what direction is preferred.   

You can see more about ClearAdmit Interview prep here, including some free interview reports from applicants. 

Leave a comment